Pirate Treasure Chest Progress 2

The technique I have frequently been using to start moulding the shape of the chest base is connect in the modify tab (AutoDesk Inc, 2016). I use this by selecting an edge ring (edges which do not touch but form a ring around one direction of the box) . This allows me to insert edges perpendicular to the edge ring selected, creating segments in the box I can then use to modify form. From here I have used extrude to push and pull. I have also used the scale tool, selecting only one axis at a time for a similar effect.  At this point in the process I wonder what would be good physical traits to have that would translate well for the pirate themed game that the asset would belong to. I have opted for a classic curved lid and straight sides to the chest with slightly exaggerated inset panels. I will try to achieve this in the next stage of the modelling process.

I have continued to alter the base of the chest with the connect tool. The tutorial videos (‘Axis navitas login’, n.d.) have repeatedly used a few techniques that I now feel very familiar with. Symmetrical modelling was introduced in class, I have yet to use it and I am still currently following the methods the tutorial video has been demonstrating. It has become obvious quickly that there are many ways to achieve the same results. Tools can be used in various ways to achieve similar goals and I have been told that people often have their own preferences for getting the job done in 3DsMax.

 

I have become more familiar with pinch, scale and slide within the connect tool and they very much make sense to me in terms of how to create form.

Certain tools that I have been introduced to however I still feel unsure of how to use. I have tried to use the snap tool and understand how it works when I snapped two primitive shapes together from corner to edge when practicing in class. When trying to use it for aliging with grid and various methods I have been hearing of from other students it has not quite clicked as a concept.

Some useful information I have gained includes the way selection along one axis can be achieved by clicking on one edge and holding down shift, and then clicking on the next edge, which selects al edges in the edge ring. If wanting to select several edges that are not along the same axis and are also not connected by face, holding the control key allows multiple selections.

Shortcuts for selection using the f keys are useful and have saved time, these cycle through vertex, edge, border, polygon and element, with 6 deselecting.

The stage that I am currently up to I feel satisfied with the general form of the chest base. I know I will be making some alterations when I feel I can figure out how to achieve the desired look and style. At this stage the most daunting aspect is the many buttons and menus. These all seem to have familiar names and are labelled with terms I understand in a broad sense but are hard to understand in practice within the program. An example is seeing someones using target weld, which as it suggests involves selecting one object and then another, the target, which the first will attach itself to. While almost self-explanatory the tool itself is a little unpredictable and seems to sometimes not attach as it would be expected to.

Overall up until this point the tutorial videos have helped greatly. I have been closely following the modelling method adjusting things to fit my design. Most of the concepts have been easy to understand and follow with very little issues at this early stage.

I would also like to note I have just learnt the shortcut for redo (control y).

Screenshot (10)
figure 1. Treasure chest model base close-up. (Wyld, 2016).

 

 

References

figure 1. Treasure chest model base close-up. Production pipeline. (Wyld, 2016).

 

Inc, A. (2016). 3d Modelling & rendering software. Retrieved April 7, 2016, from http://www.autodesk.com.au/products/3ds-max/overview

Login. Retrieved April 7, 2016, from https://moodle-sae-au.axis.navitas.com/course/view.php?id=328&section=8

Leave a Reply

