Pirate Treasure Chest Progress 4

Continuing from the basic form of the treasure chest lid, I currently have a curve to the top. The basic lid shape needs to be altered however. I have been having trouble with the curve shape. It is quite blocky and not a suitable curve. I have inserted several more edges, the spacing using pinch segments and slide, it has taken several attempts.

I have altered the chest base so the panels slope in the way. I played around with a few things until I realised that I could use the scale tool and extrude in the way towards the inside of my model. After a few adjustments of how much to inset the panels I have the look I want that is congruent with the desired cartoon aesthetic.

I have realised that I do not have a lock on the treasure chest and extruded one from the front of the lid, I can then scale down the bottom to create a narrowing to the bottom of the lock. The lock size has been exaggerated the same way the metal straps have been as well as the base panels.

The curve of the lid has then been fixed. It has taken a while to get used to using the move tool to edit edges, pulling them up to create a smooth curve. At first I did not understand why the curve on the lid appeared boxy but after realising I needed more edges the curve is correct. I have also repeated the process on the underside of the lid. The inside curve to the lid is much smaller and was easier to create after the exterior curve. An issue I have had in general is the edges on the model and deletion. When fine tuning the model odd extra lines appeared that I did not recognise, during class I have learnt that sometimes extra edges form because a part of the model has been collapsed onto an edge, leaving several lines overlapping. In 3DsMax  using backspace deletes the edge, however using control backspace also deletes the vertices. It has helped greatly to use wire frame to check if problems with the such as this have occurred.

Overall up until this point I still have had very little problems with the modelling and following with the tutorial videos (‘Axis navitas login’, n.d.) has meant I understand the methods used in this particular way to model the treasure chest.

Screenshot (24)
figure 1. Treasure Chest Model Basic Form. (Wyld, 2016).

 

Screenshot (32)
figure 2.  Treasure chest model basic form of lid. (Wyld, 2016).

 

Screenshot (35).png
figure 3. Treasure chest final modelling. (wyld, 2016).

 

Screenshot (34).png
figure 4. Treasure chest  final modelling of lid. (Wyld, 2016).

 

Screenshot (38).png
figure 5. Treasure Chest final modelling of lock. (Wyld, 2016).

 

References

figure 1. Treasure Chest Model Basic Form. (Wyld, 2016).

figure 2.  Treasure chest model basic form of lid. (Wyld, 2016).

figure 3. Treasure chest final modelling. (wyld, 2016).

figure 4. Treasure chest  final modelling of lid. (Wyld, 2016).

figure 5. Treasure Chest final modelling of lock. (Wyld, 2016).

 

Autodesk Inc, A. (2016). 3d Modelling & rendering software. Retrieved April 7, 2016, from http://www.autodesk.com.au/products/3ds-max/overview

Login. Retrieved April 7, 2016, from https://moodle-sae-au.axis.navitas.com/course/view.php?id=328&section=8

 

Leave a Reply

