Pirate Treasure Chest Progress 7

I have begun texturing by opening the UV renders in Photoshop (Álvarez, 2016). The renders have been saved as a Targa. After opening this file it must be renamed, which also unlocks and changes the Targa to a regular layer in Photoshop. The renders are then inverted from their black and green using ctrl+i, this switches the renders to purple outline with a white background.

During class as well as individual research I have been learning more about how to use the mask tool. While I now understand how to use this, I have decided as I am already mid-way in the texturing process to leave my layers unmasked. I understand that masking is very useful as instead of deleting it is possible to add or subtract how much of a layer is visible.

My current layering system consists of wood layers and metal, which are in respective folders. I have started with a photo texture of fine wood grain taken from an online resource.

The first task with this photo has been to ensure that the size is correct and matches the overall size of my UV render file, with 2048×2048 being the target size. using the image size options in Photoshop, resolution is now 300 pixels per inch and the dimensions 2048 x 2048.

The photo that I have started with is not large enough to preserve its sharpness with its default size. I have used offset and define pattern to tile the photo, I have then used several techniques to create a seamless texture which can be repeated. This involved utilising the heal and the clone tool. I have also copied and re-pasted areas of the photo. Overall my wood texture is devoid of obvious seams. The resulting texture is also fairly monotonous and does not have any unique knots or shapes in the grain.

The process taken to arrive at this point has required assistance to ensure I have altered image size correctly and that the texture is working decently in general.

Despite creation of a seamless texture, I do not feel that the texture will be appropriate for the treasure chest model. I have been experimenting with effects such as adding dust and dirt, scratches and altering the colour.

After another class, I have learnt further techniques for texturing my model and I feel that I will start over with a different approach.

I have decided that I will create the texture from scratch in Photoshop. I believe that this will be the appropriate approach for my treasure chest as I can determine the aesthetic of the grain of the wood. I also think that creating a texture from scratch will result in a texture which is congruent with the cartoon style I am aiming for.

I have begun with a solid colour base, where I have chosen the exact wood colour that would be suitable, a chocolate brown.

Texturing has so far presented a few difficult hurdles. Trial and error has been a large part of this process and whilst I have abandoned my first attempt I feel that I can navigate Photoshop with a little more ease.

WoodFine0011_S
figure 1. Wood fine texture. (2016, 2005).

 

treasure chest texturing 006
figure 2. Treasure chest model texture. (Wyld, 2016).

 

Screenshot (56).png
figure 3. Treasure chest model with texture. (Wyld, 2016).

 

 References

Álvarez, R. (2016, March 22). Create anything you can imagine. Anywhere you are. Retrieved April 7, 2016, from http://www.adobe.com/au/products/photoshop.html

 

figure 1. Wood fine texture. Retrieved April 7, 2016, from http://photo.foter.com/photos/pi/339/pirate-treasure-chest-toybox-bing-images.jpg. (2016, 2005).

figure 2. Treasure chest model texture. (Wyld, 2016).

figure 3. Treasure chest model with texture. (Wyld, 2016).

Leave a Reply

